BAU 18 Exhibition at Kentler

October 14 – 15, 2023

event Images
Click to Enlarge.

BAU 18 Exhibition at Kentler
BAU Event Poster

About the event

In 2004 a group of artists in Viareggio, Italy began a tradition that continues to the present.  The BAU project invites artists to submit original works to be included in a box entitled The Container of Contemporary Culture.  BAU 18 is in an edition of 120 boxes with original works, numbered and signed, by 63 artists from Italy and New York. Assembled in Viareggio between December 2021 and February 2022. Released in June 2022 it is now being shown for the first time in New York.

Over seventeen years from issue n.0 to issue 18, the BAU "network" has involved over 830 artists from more than 35 countries. The BAU box is held in museums, archives, foundations, and public collections, including the Tate Modern Library in London; Museo del Novecento, Triennale and Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense in Milan; The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library of the Yale University; the Bibliothèque Kandinsky of the Center Pompidou in Paris and the University of Iowa Libraries.

Demosthenes Agrafiotis, Paolo Albani, David Ambrose, Rosaire Appel, Nora Bachel, Angelica Bergamini, Gianni Bertini, Remo Bianco, Julien Blaine, László Bolemant, Antonino Bove, Luca Brocchini, Giuseppe Calandriello, Gianluca Capozzi, Ellen Chuse, Philip Corner, Olivier Cuendet, Jakob de Chirico, Michael De Feo, Claudia DeMonte, Duccio Dogheria, Paul Fabozzi, Giovanni Fontana, Rachel Frank, Xintong Gao, Alfio Ghezzi, Marcela Gottardo, Elizabeth Gregory-Gruen, Giuliano Grittini, Carl E. Hazlewood, Sham Hinchey + Marzia Messina, Emilio Isgrò, Elisa Jensen, Leslie Kerby, Katerina Kyselica, Katerina Lanfranco, Nicola Liberati + Jiaying Chen, Annalisa Lizz, Cecilia Mandrile, Christina Massey, JoAnne McFarland, Laura Mega, Janice Mehlman, Gabriele Menconi, Patricia Miranda, Yvette Molina, Rachel Morellet, Gertrude Moser-Wagner, Prema Murthy, Amy Park, Guido Peruz, Patrizio Peterlini, Simona Prives, Debra Ramsay, Cia Rinne, Sara Russell Dewey, Kiyomitsu Saito, Claudia Sbrissa, Francesco Tedeschi, The Serial Asemicst, Tommaso Vassalle, Virginia Ines Vergara, Sarah Walko, Heimo Wallner, Ellen Weider, Michael Wolf, Etty Yaniv.